Turn off the Lights

The 2015 BAFTA Nominations Announced

bafta trophies
Awards season is upon us and the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) have announced their nominations at 7:35 am local time. Wes Anderson’s ensemble comedy The Grand Budapest Hotel is leading the pack with 11 nomination with the Stephen Hawkins bio-pic The Theory of Everything and the comedy-drama Birdman following close behind with 10 nominations each.

The other big British movies to earn nominations are The Imitation Game (five), Pride (four), Mr. Turner (four) and Paddington (two). The major awards contender Boyhood has earned five nominations while the music drama Whiplash also has five and the crime-drama Nightcrawler has four. Foxcatcher has two nominations, seeing Mark Ruffalo and Steve Carell battling it out for Best Supporting Actor Award.

The British public can vote for Jack O’Connell (Starred Up, Unbroken) Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Belle), Margot Robbie (The Wolf of Wall Street), Miles Teller (Whiplash) or Shailene Woodley (The Fault in Our Stars) for the EE Rising Star award.

Below is the full list of nominations:

Best Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
The Theory of Everything

Best Director
Alejandro G. Iñárritu –Birdman
Richard Linklater – Boyhood
Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel
James Marsh – The Theory of Everything
Damien Chazelle – Whiplash

Best Leading Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game
Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nightcrawler
Michael Keaton – Birdman
Ralph Fiennes – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Leading Actress
Amy Adams – Big Eyes
Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything
Julianne Moore – Still Alice
Reese Witherspoon – Wild
Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Best Supporting Actor
Edward Norton – Birdman
Ethan Hawke – Boyhood
J.K. Simmons – Whiplash
Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher
Steve Carell – Foxcatcher

Best Supporting Actress
Emma Stone – Birdman
Imelda Staunton – Pride
Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game
Patricia Arquette – Boyhood
Rene Russo – Nightcrawler

Best Original Screenplay
Birdman – Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr, Armando Bo
Boyhood – Richard Linklater
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson
Nightcrawler – Dan Gilroy
Whiplash – Damien Chazelle

Best Adapted Screenplay
American Sniper – Jason Hall
Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
The Imitation Game – Graham Moore
Paddington – Paul King
The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten

Outstanding British Film
The Imitation Game
The Theory Of Everything
Under The Skin

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer
Elaine Constantine (Writer/Director) – Northern Soul
Gregory Burke (Writer), Yann Demange (Director) –’71
Hong Khaou (Writer/Director) –  Lilting
Paul Katis (Director/Producer), Andrew de Lotbiniere (Producer) – Kajaki: The True Story
Stephen Beresford (Writer) – David Livingstone (Producer) – Pride

Best Film Not In The English Language
The Lunchbox
Two Days, One Night

Best Documentary
20 Feet From Stardom
20,000 Days On Earth
Finding Vivian Maier

Best Animated Film

Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
The Lego Movie

Best Original Music
Birdman – Antonio Sanchez
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Alexandre Desplat
Interstellar – Hans Zimmer
The Theory of Everything – Jóhann Jóhannsson
Under The Skin – Mica Levi

Best Cinematography
Birdman – Emmanuel Lubezki
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Robert Yeoman
Ida– Lukasz Zal, Ryszard Lenczewski
Interstellar – Hoyte van Hoytema
Mr. Turner– Dick Pope

Best Editing
Birdman – Douglas Crise, Stephen Mirrione
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Barney Pilling
The Imitation Game – William Goldenberg
Nightcrawler – John Gilroy
The Theory of Everything – Jinx Godfrey
Whiplash – Tom Cross

Best Production Design
Big Eyes – Rick Heinrichs, Shane Vieau
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock
The Imitation Game – Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana MacDonald
Interstellar– Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis
Mr. Turner – Suzie Davies, Charlotte Watts

Best Costume Design
The Grand Budapest Hotel– Milena Canonero
The Imitation Game– Sammy Sheldon Differ
Into The Woods – Colleen Atwood
Mr. Turner– Jacqueline Durran
The Theory Of Everything – Steven Noble

Best Make-Up And Hair
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon
Guardians of The GalaxyElizabeth Yianni-Georgiou, David White
Into The Woods– Peter Swords King, J. Roy Helland
Mr. Turner – Christine Blundell, Lesa Warrener
The Theory Of Everything –  Jan Sewell

Best Sound
American Sniper – Walt Martin, John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, Alan Robert Murray, Bub Asman
Birdman– Thomas Varga, Martin Hernández, Aaron Glascock, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wayne Lemmer, Christopher Scarabosio, Pawel Wdowczak
The Imitation Game – John Midgley, Lee Walpole, Stuart Hilliker, Martin Jensen
Whiplash – Thomas Curley, Ben Wilkins, Craig Mann

Best Special Visual Effects
Dawn of the Planet Of The Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Erik Winquist, Daniel Barrett
Guardians of the Galaxy– Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner, Nicolas Aithadi
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies– Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White
Interstellar – Paul Franklin, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley
X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Tim Crosbie, Cameron Waldbauer

Best British Short Animation
The Bigger Picture – Chris Hees, Daisy Jacobs, Jennifer Majka
Monkey Love Experiments – Ainslie Henderson, Cam Fraser, Will Anderson
My Dad– Marcus Armitage

Best British Short Film
Boogaloo And Graham– Brian J. Falconer, Michael Lennox, Ronan Blaney
Emotional Fusebox – Michael Berliner, Rachel Tunnard
The Karman Line – Campbell Beaton, Dawn King, Tiernan Hanby, Oscar Sharp
Slap– Islay Bell-Webb, Michelangelo Fano, Nick Rowland
Three Brothers– Aleem Khan, Matthieu de Braconier, Stephanie Paeplow

The EE Rising Star Award
Gugu Mbatha-Raw
Jack O’Connell
Margot Robbie
Miles Teller
Shailene Woodley

The awards ceremony will take play on February 8 at the Royal Opera House.

Liked this article? Try These!


Meet the Author

Follow Us