Turn off the Lights

The 2015 BAFTA Winners Announced

eddie redmayne bafta
Last night was the 68th BAFTA Awards in the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, London. Hosted by Stephen Fry the awards saw Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel winning the most prizes, gaining five from their eleven nominations. The Theory of Everything, Whiplash and Boyhood followed, winning three awards each. Boyhood walked away with the Best Film and Best Director prizes and Eddie Redmayne added to his trophy cabinet, winning the Best Actor award for his performance as Professor Stephen Hawking and looks to be the front runner for the Oscar. Redmayne praised Professor Hawking in his acceptance speech and The Lego Movie directors Phil Lord and Christopher Miller had a dig at the Academy when they collected the award for Best Animated Film. Jack O’Connell won the BAFTA Raising Star Award which is voted by the public.

But the awards ceremony was met with controversy with viewers noticing Bob Hoskins and Rik Mayall were absent in the tribute montage.

Below is a list all the winners and nominees:

Best Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
The Theory of Everything

Best Outstanding British Film
The Imitation Game
The Theory of Everything
Under the Skin

Best Director
Alejandro González Iñárritu – Birdman
Richard Linklater – BoyhoodWINNER
Wes Anderson- The Grand Budapest Hotel
James Marsh – The Theory of Everything
Damien Chazelle – Whiplash

Best Leading Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game
Ralph Fiennes – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nightcrawler
Michael Keaton – Birdman
Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of EverythingWINNER

Best Leading Actress
Amy Adams – Big Eyes
Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything
Julianne Moore – Still Alice WINNER
Reese Witherspoon – Wild
Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Best Supporting Actor
Steve Carell – Foxcatcher
Ethan Hawke – Boyhood
Edward Norton – Birdman
Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher
JK Simmons – WhiplashWINNER

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette – BoyhoodWINNER
Keira Knightly – The Imitation Game
Imelda Staunton – Pride
Emma Stone – Birdman
Rene Russo – Nightcrawler

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Northern Soul – Elaine Constantine
’71 – Yann Demange, Gregory Burke
Lilting – Hong Khaou
Kajaki: The True Story – Paul Katis, Andrew de Lotbiniere
Pride – Stephen Beresford, David Livingstone – WINNER

Best Film Not in the English Language
The Lunchbox
Two Days, One Night

Best Documentary
20 Feet from Stardom
20,000 Days on Earth
Finding Vivian Maier

Best Animated Film
Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls

The Lego MovieWINNER

Best Original Screenplay
Birdman – Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr, Armando Bo
Boyhood – Richard Linklater
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson – WINNER
Nightcrawler – Dan Gilroy
Whiplash – Damien Chazelle

Best Adapted Screenplay
American Sniper – Jason Hall
Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
The Imitation Game – Graham Moore
Paddington – Paul King
The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten – WINNER

Best Original Music
Birdman – Antonio Sanchez
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Alexandre Desplat – WINNER
Interstellar – Hans Zimmer
The Theory of Everything – Jóhann Jóhannsson
Under the Skin – Mica Levi

Best Cinematography
Birdman – Emmanuel Lubezki – WINNER
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Robert Yeoman
Ida – Lukasz Zal, Ryszard Lenczewski
Interstellar – Hoyte van Hoytema
Mr. Turner – Dick Pope

Best Editing
Birdman – Douglas Crise
The Grand Budapest Hotel
– Barney Pilling
The Imitation Game
– William Goldenberg
– John Gilory
The Theory of Everything
– Jinx Godfrey
– Tom Cross –  WINNER

Best Production Design
Big Eyes – Rick Heinrichs, Shane Vieau
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock WINNER
The Imitation Game – Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana MacDonald
– Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis
Mr. Turner
– Suzie Davies, Charlotte Watts

Best Costume Design
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero WINNER
The Imitation Game – Sammy Sheldon Differ
Into the Woods
– Colleen Atwood
Mr. Turner
– Jacqueline Durran
The Theory of Everything
– Steven Noble

Best Make Up and Hair
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon WINNER!
Guardians of the Galaxy – Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou, David White
Into the Woods
– Peter Swords King, J. Roy Helland
Mr. Turner
– Christine Blundell, Lesa Warrener
The Theory of Everything
– Jan Sewell

Best Sound
American Sniper – Walt Martin, John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, Alan Robert Murray, Bub Asman
– Thomas Varga, Martin Hernández, Aaron Glascock, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño
The Grand Budapest Hotel
– Wayne Lemmer, Christopher Scarabosio, Pawel Wdowczak
The Imitation Game
– John Midgley, Lee Walpole, Stuart Hilliker, Martin Jensen
Whiplash – Thomas Curley, Ben Wilkins, Craig Mann WINNER

Best Special Visual Effects
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Erik Winquist, Daniel Barrett
Guardians of the Galaxy
– Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner, Nicolas Aithadi
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
– Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White
Interstellar – Paul Franklin, Scott Fisher, Andrew Lockley WINNER
X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Tim Crosbie, Cameron Waldbauer

Best British Short Film
Boogaloo and GrahamWINNER
Emotional Fusebox
The Kármán Line
Three Brothers

Best British Short Animation
The Bigger PictureWINNER
Monkey Love Experiments
My Dad

EE Rising Star Award
Shailene Woodley
Jack O’Connell – WINNER
Miles Teller
Margot Robbie
Gugu Mbatha-Raw

Liked this article? Try These!


Meet the Author

Follow Us