Turn off the Lights

Splatoon Direct Shows Demo, DLC

"Demo only good at certain times"

Nintendo hosted a Splatoon-themed Nintendo Direct today detailing what’s the game’s about while offering its short-term post launch support.



If you haven’t been following it, Splatoon is a team-based shooter staring squids that can turn into kids with the objective of covering the map with ink. There are many modes including a single-player mission mode with the objective of taking out the evil Octarians. Your character can be customizable with hundreds of clothing options that can grant bonuses in battle as well as have the ability to be upgraded. Lastly, there’s also an amiibo-exclusive mode if they have a Splatoon amiibo, with three different amiibo netting twenty exclusive challenges alongside several exclusive costumes.

The Direct mainly focused on the modes, maps and weapons you’ll be experiencing, in addition to the hub, Booyah Base, that you’ll upgrade your character; they also announced a few tidbits that are important to know. First off is the Global Testfire, which is a demo that’ll be available on the eShop now that will enable them to participate in four-on-four Turf War battles in several one-hour demos. The first Testfire event is scheduled for 11 p.m. -12 p.m. EST (8-9 p.m. PST) for this Friday, May 8, and 7-8 a.m. EST (4-5 a.m. PST) and 3-4 p.m. EST (12-1 p.m. PST) on Saturday. According to Nintendo, “during the first one-hour demo event, Nintendo will be broadcasting a live stream hosted by game experts from Nintendo’s Treehouse as they play against other Testfire participants.”

To keep the game in people’s sights and Wii U consoles, Nintendo aren’t putting everything on disc and instead pushing free DLC throughout the summer. Five maps are available at launch, but will increase in the coming months alongside new clothing options and weapons. The first major update will hit in August with two more matchmaking options, including the ability for friends to form four-person teams and search for other four-person teams to battle against, and one that lets eight friends join up to battle in four-on-four matches on any stage and with any rules they want.

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.48.55 AM

Like Super Smash Bros.’ Conquest Mode, Splatoon will have the similar Splatfests. Splatfests will have questions like “Do you prefer dogs or cats?,” and players choose their answer in the form of joining that answer’s team. Winners get items like the Super Sea Snail that’ll allow you to further upgrade your gear. This mode goes up on June 20th.

Players who preorder or purchase Splatoon at GameStop will get two Inkling costumes for their Mii in Super Smash Bros. for Wii U. Splatoon will be out in a few weeks on May 29th.

Liked this article? Try These!

Comments

News from Around the Web

Meet the Author

About / Bio
NNID: Shaymin
XBL: ShiftyShaymin

Follow Us

Our Sponsors

Featured Poll

What is Your Favorite Game Franchise?
Yop Poll Widget
Which Upcoming Game Are You Most Excited For?