Turn off the Lights

‘Game of Thrones’ Honored at the TCA Awards

On Saturday, July 28, the Television Critics Association (TCA) honored television's most outstanding programs in 12 categories. HBO's critically-acclaimed Game of Thrones was crowned "Program of the Year," and Showtime's Homeland was named "Outstanding New Program," an honored bestowed to Game of Thrones in 2011.

The TCA represents more than 220 journalists writing about television in the U.S. and Canada. The association has been bestowing awards since 1984, and although their awards are often expected to anticipate those from the Emmy and Peabody panels, the fact is that TCA awards seem to be closer to the popular pulse. They are also more refreshing in the sense that they are less likely to honor the same program or person from one year to the next.

Here is the full list of honorees:

Individual Achievement in Drama: Claire Danes, Homeland
Individual Achievement in Comedy: Louis C.K., Louie
Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: 60 Minutes
Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: So You Think You Can Dance
Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: Switched at Birth
Outstanding New Program: Homeland
Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey
Outstanding Achievement in Drama: Breaking Bad
Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: Louie
Career Achievement Award: David Letterman
Heritage Award: Cheers
Program of the Year: Game of Thrones


Meet the Author

Follow Us