Turn off the Lights

‘Rock Band Blitz’ Release Date Set For End of August

Harmonix announced the final release date for Rock Band Blitz today, their upcoming downloadable take on the franchise without the plastic instruments, for August 28 on Playstation Network and August 29 for Xbox Live Arcade. The game will cost $15 or 1200 Microsoft Points. For those that are not aware of this new entry in the series, Blitz plays more like PS2 classics Frequency and Amplitude, both of which were made by Harmonix before going to super stardom with Guitar Hero and Rock Band. Four new songs are also announced for the setlist, bringing the total number above 20. The newly added songs are as follows:
  • Avenged Sevenfold - "So Far Away"
  • Fun feat. Janelle Monae - "We Are Young"
  • Kool & The Gang - "Jungle Boogie"
  • My Chemical Romance - "Sing"
The game's final track list is not yet set, but all songs will be available to play on Rock Band 3 once you purchase Blitz. Plus, all previously bought downloadable content from previous Rock Band titles will also be playable on this new entry, allowing for a huge library of songs to play out of the gate. Of today's song announcements, it was just a matter of time until Fun's "We Are Young" made it to a Rock Band game, considering how popular and overplayed it is on mainstream radio. Personally, I hope Blitz does good enough to bring me back to the rhythm genre, seeing as those were my go-to games in 2007 and 2008, having spent hundreds of dollars on instruments and songs.

The latest trailer for the game is posted below. Get ready to rock again as Rock Band Blitz will release on August 28 for Playstation Network and on August 29 for Xbox Live Arcade.


Meet the Author

About / Bio
XBL: MisterGVer1
NNID: MisterGVer1
PSN: GUnitVer1

Follow Us